Connect With Us
Connect With Us

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) is pleased to announce the new members of the NAM Council—the academy’s governing and oversight body—for the term beginning in 2024, and to extend gratitude to the departing councilors for their service.

The International Secretary Carlos del Rio, MD—Leon L. Haley, Jr., MD, Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Executive Associate Dean for Faculty and Clinical Affairs, Emory University School of Medicine—was elected to serve a second 4-year term, which will begin on July 1, 2024, and conclude on June 30, 2028.

The NAM is pleased to welcome four new members of the Council for 3-year terms effective July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2027:

L. Ebony Boulware, MD, Dean, Wake Forest University School of Medicine; Chief Science Officer and Vice Chief Academic Officer, Advocate Health

Bernice A. Pescosolido, PhD, Distinguished Professor of Sociology, Indiana University

Charles Sawyers, MD, Chair, Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Mark A. Schuster, MD, PhD, Founding Dean and CEO, Kaiser Permanente Bernard J. Tyson School of Medicine

One current member of the Council will continue service with a second 3-year term:

Linda A. McCauley, PhD, RN, FAAN, FRCN, Dean, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, Emory University

The NAM would also like to recognize the service of four members of the Council who will complete their terms on June 30, 2024:

NAM Council Vice Chair Claire Brindis, DrPH, Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics and Health Policy; Emeritus Director, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies; Co-Director, Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, University of California, San Francisco

Jeffrey R. Balser, MD, PhD, President and CEO, Vanderbilt University; Medical Center Dean, School of Medicine, Vanderbilt University

Eve J. Higginbotham, MD, Vice Dean, Inclusion and Diversity; Senior Fellow, Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics; Professor of Ophthalmology, Scheie Eye Institute, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

Huda Y. Zoghbi, MD, Professor, Molecular and Human Genetics, Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute, Baylor College of Medicine

Join Our Community

Sign up for NAM email updates